Swimming for success…

STA Starfish

The series is undertaken in shallow water with the guardian in the water holding and supporting the baby. Buoyancy aids may be worn but they are not necessary as the guardian is holding the baby throughout. It is important that the baby is also supported properly, including the head; eye contact should always be maintained and words of encouragement frequently given.

STA Stanley First Steps

A child’s first learn to swim experience is one of the most important in terms of capturing and retaining their interest. We believe the best way to achieve this is to create safe environments in which children can be introduced to the water whilst having fun and by providing a progressive learn to swim programme that is both challenging and rewarding.

Swim England Duckling

Duckling Awards are the next step on from the Discovery Duckling Awards. They are designed to help toddlers enjoy learning to swim with help from their parents or guardians. Each Award has its own certificate and badge. Duckling 1 will see children start to move by themselves in the water. By Duckling 4 they will be jumping in, going underwater, floating and travel 10 metres without support. Duckling Awards are great at promoting increased independence and water confidence to help prepare for Stage 1 of the Learn to Swim Framework.

Swim England Learn-to-Swim Stages 1-7

The Learn to Swim Stage 1-7 Awards are divided into progressive stages. They make up the core, national syllabus of learning to swim for primary school aged children. They are designed to reward your child for their development of the essential aquatic skills they need to be confident, competent and safe in the water. Each of the Learn to Swim Stage 1-7 Awards has a list of clear outcomes that need to be completed in order to gain each Award.

Swim England Rainbow Distance

The Swim England Rainbow Distance Awards are a range of bright, cheerful badges and certificates to help keep your child motivated while working through the individual Learn to Swim stages. The Rainbow Distance Awards (including Puffin Award) are aimed at swimmers of five years and older and are designed to demonstrate the pupils’ ability to swim from A to B without pause and without stress. They are a great way to give swimmers the incentive to develop their swimming abilities and stamina by gradually increasing the distance they can swim.

STA Advanced Swimmer Series

The Advanced Swimmer Series consists of three levels, Bronze, Silver and Gold; each award has a badge and certificate. This series develops swimming technique, speed, stamina and water polo or synchronised swimming skills.

take a look at our classes...

Find out which awards your child could obtain through our classes.